A New Amish Painting In the Works

You can just barely see it…

but…

…here is a very faint sketch of the very first beginnings of a new pastel painting in the works.  I am trying to put a calendar together to hopefully put up for sale on Etsy and at Pebbles and Lace, the shop in Strasburg, PA. soon. I have never created or put together anything like this before,  and so, I am very excited to say the least.

As I was trying to ponder what to paint next, I was realizing I haven’t done any winter paintings at all, at least in the Amish category.  And that’s when I got this image of a cute little girl, standing against a white barn…wearing a red, headscarf and dark, grey winter coat with sprinkling of snow on her shoulders and hair. She may be holding firewood and I think I may have a window cut out behind her for more interest and some pine boughs hanging slightly over head for a slight holiday feeling. Well, when you look at this sketch, you have to really imagine all this, but I am seeing this and I can’t wait.  Now you can watch it come to life too!  I will share the stages of this painting here as much as I can, and when I am almost done,  I will have to name her.

I have other ideas as well and am starting sketches of those as well, but I am really excited about this one.  And then, I must do another boy painting!  It’s so easy to come up with cute ideas for girls…it seems!  Anyway, hope you can make this out and picture it!  Until next time….

DSC02897

The Sketch…so faint you can barely see it!

4 comments on “A New Amish Painting In the Works

  1. Nancy Terry says:

    Looking forward to the “birth” of this creation!
    Love the ideas you mentioned!

  2. […] CHERYL MCNULTY –  This talented artist from Rhode Island is one we’ve followed on Amish365 for a couple of years.  I’m always excited when she begins work on a new Amish image and she has the rough outlines of one taking shape now.  Click here to see what it looks like and we’ll follow along as it progresses! […]

  3. Wow what a gift you have. Yes we can see it and anxiously await updates.

Leave a Reply

