A New Amish Watercolor

Hello all.  I have been in a slump lately, and not getting much done in the art department.  It comes and goes like this with me sometimes.  There are times I am so creative, I can complete more than 5 items on my drawing board. And then there are times when I fill my day with chores and fixing the house, etc., it seems I am purposely avoiding the drawing board, because the chores are easy and  I know the artwork takes more concentration, and therefore…more difficult. I also have to be in a very creative frame of mind with music playing and …I guess…a sort of flow going.

Anyway, I have watched some amish videos which somehow got the flow going again, thank goodness!  (There are some good ones on amishclothesline.com) When I do this, it’s almost as if my body  knows it has been starving for this creativity and peacefulness…with all the noise and anger going on in the world right now. Then, all of a sudden,  peaceful images start revealing themselves to me again. The love comes back and it’s so strong, I have to get it down on paper somehow.

This is one I am starting because I love going to Lancaster, Pa when the peach harvest is going on. I had wanted to paint a little amish girl harvesting peaches for the longest time.  I could picture the pale color of the bushel basket with the bright colors of the peaches, with the green of the grasses and her  colorful skirt… then add butterflies and a cat or dog…that’s what I am trying to capture with this painting.  I had originally wanted  it to be a pastel painting, but I may do one of those with peaches too, soon. This will be a watercolor.  Like I’ve said before, I never really know how it will turn out in the end, but it usually is good.  Let’s hope for the best! 😉

DSC02711

Amish girl with peaches

Leave a Reply

