Hannah and Jacob, The Buggy Ride

Well, I finally finished it! But this was so worth it.  I must admit, I was happy the way it turned out. But then of course, I had to get picky and start touching and retouching, trying to capture all the right shading and highlights… until I just  had to tell myself to stop.  It doesn’t have to look perfect…that’s what makes it art.  I wanted to capture two angelic faces, full of curiosity of the world…from a different perspective. Not from the usual perspective of looking at the back of a buggy and seeing the children peer out at the world, but be in the buggy with them and feel that curiosity with them as they peer “out”. Almost like we are sitting beside them on this journey.  That’s what I wanted to achieve with this painting, and I think I did that…and so it is done.

I also think the colors seem to make it look like it should be inside a storybook of some kind. I could picture this in a book. But anyway, I thought I would finally share this one and now I can create some cards and prints and share them on Etsy, and ship some to Pebbles and Lace in Strasburg, PA!  I hope you like the painting…until the next one…hmmmm.

hannahjacobfxwm

Hannah And Jacob, The Buggy Ride

8 comments on “Hannah and Jacob, The Buggy Ride

  1. Jean Byrnes says:

    Cheryl McNulty, so beautiful, I hope to get to Lancaster someday to see more of your work!

  2. […] HANNAH & JACOB:  Love the work of artist Cheryl McNulty, this week she unveils her completed portrait, a tender work depicting two Amish children peering out the back of a buggy. I really enjoyed this piece of work.  Click here to see. […]

  3. Helen says:

    What a wonderful picture of the children. You are so blessed with such a great talent. Love all your work.

Leave a Reply

