A New Challenge-An AmishWatercolor Portrait

So I decided I would just try something I never thought I could  do, and that was to capture a realistic face with shadows and details (that were usually easily captured in pastels) in watercolor. Watercolor is different from pastels in the fact that you basically can’t erase mistakes in watercolor. What’s usually done is done, but I was willing to give it a try  anyway.

So I took a reference photograph of a little girls face, added an amish cap and dress and just proceeded to paint. I told myself I was doing this for fun, and see where this takes us. I just wanted the paint and creativity to flow, and if it turned out bad, I wasn’t going to get angry. I would just start the next one and be done with it.

Well, after I painted her face, I just couldn’t go any farther.  I was kind of amazed at how I seemed to capture this beautiful face the way that I intended. I couldn’t believe it. Actually, I had already applied the masking fluid on her cap and hair ready to paint even farther, but my husband said that he liked the look that the painting had with just her face done.

So, at any rate, I am putting it out there and would love to know what you think. Should I leave this girl the way she is here, or go a little farther with it? If I do, I am not doing too much, but a little color here and there.  I would love to know your thoughts.  In the meantime, I think I will try some more!

DSC00750 (1)

Amish Watercolor Portrait

5 comments on “A New Challenge-An AmishWatercolor Portrait

  1. Carol says:

    Well, you’re the artist, but I think it would be nice to have some color here+there as you indicated.☺️

  2. Helen says:

    It’s a beautiful. But think would go a little farther. Maybe a little more color here and there.

  3. Linda says:

    I would like to see some color in the dress

  4. Jordan shope says:

    I think it needs a little more color. It is pretty though now.

  5. […] MORE MCNULTY:  Gosh, I love her artwork….it also just seems, from what you can glean from Cheryl’s posts, that painting is a very healthy emotional outlet.  I wish I had something like that for me as I navigate my mid-life career crises…I do weight-lift and run an those are great physical outlets, but something like painting stands the test of time and acts as an emotional release valve more so than hitting the gym, I would think.  Anyway, she has posted an image of her latest watercolor, an image of a young Amish girl.  What do you think? Is it finished? Or should she do more? I vote for more…I think it could be a striking image if she filled in the dress colors, etc….what do you think? Click here to see. […]

Leave a Reply

