I Made It On Amish Country News!

I have been waiting to put this post up, but I am so excited as today a pastel picture I painted is on the cover of “Amish Country News”, a monthly visitors guide publication for Lancaster, Pa . (They have 450,000 copies printed annually, and seven issues are distributed to over 300 locations, by subscription and in person, in Lancaster and surrounding counties.)
I approached the publication in June and asked if they took artwork, mentioning I do amish paintings. The publisher said they have artwork once a year for their cover, but it is for an advertisement for a local Chicken Pie business and if I wanted to submit something he would consider it and gave a deadline for the 4th of September. As soon as I sent it, the publisher brought it over to Zook’s Chicken Pies to show the owner, and they thought it was great! So today was the day it came out and it is out there until November 6th.
The funny part of all this is that I found a picture of my small nephew(Evan) eating a yummy piece of pizza at a party. I just loved his expression so much, I used his face for this painting. I added a straw hat, a chicken pie, fall colors for the background, etc….and this is how it came out. An Amish Evan! Maybe he will sell more chicken pies!
They also put another pic of mine in the issue at the bottom of the Zook’s PPie article and a half-page bio/profile for me and contact info. I’m still shaking! The publication can be seen here:
http://www.amishnews.com

My Nephew Evan, who became Amish overnight in a painting

My Nephew Evan, who became Amish overnight in a painting

An Amish Evan

An Amish Evan

Another picture they used in the same publication

Another picture they used in the same publication

2 comments on “I Made It On Amish Country News!

  1. brenda says:

    congratulations. what an eye to see the same qualities in your nephew and translate them on the clever cover.

Leave a Reply

