Another Amish Pastel Painting, Rebekah In The Barn

Wow!  I can’t believe I have finally finished this painting.  This took me some time as I was at first busy with painting some rooms in my house, and then a graduation came and went, and the painting just sat against my desk half done.  I hate doing that, too.  Starting a painting and then not finishing it, only because it breaks up the creative flow you had when you first started.  It’s more difficult to get back into it again,and I think every time I saw the painting there waiting…I was almost afraid to start in on it again. So one day I just said to myself I wasn’t going to start another project until I finished this, and I kept at it until I felt I was finished.  It’s funny, you never really feel like it’s perfect, you just know there is nothing more you could add or take away that will make any more of a difference. At least for me…I always think it could have turned out better doing this or that. But I guess that’s all about the learning process…and then you start another one and say this will be better than the last. I do like the way this one turned out though.  I just love her face and peaceful expression, and that’s the thing that I always try to attain. I hope you like Rebekah In The Barn. It sure took some time for her to arrive! And now…onto the next one…whew…:) If you are interested, this will also be available on Etsy soon.

Rebekah In The Barn

Rebekah In The Barn

5 comments on “Another Amish Pastel Painting, Rebekah In The Barn

  1. […] EDITOR’S PICK – REBEKAH IN THE BARN –  Rhode Island artist Cheryl McNulty has finished another gorgeous Amish image.  Sheesh, if you read Cheryl’s post that goes with it and replace the word “painting” with “writing” you get my life: I have unfinished writing projects sitting on my desk and the longer they sit the more difficult it is to “get back into them” and resume the flow.  Anyway, her subjects are almost always Lancaster County Amish and Rebekah is a beautiful representation.  Check out her blog post and the beautiful portrait of Rebekah in the Barn here! […]

  2. Helen says:

    That is a beautiful painting. Love the little chicks with the girl.

  3. Norma says:

    Beautiful indeed!

Leave a Reply

