Best Friends, Portrait of an Amish Girl With A Rabbit

 

Here is a portrait of an Amish girl with a rabbit titled, “Katie With A Bunny” .   I wanted her to look like she was very serene and peaceful and above all, caring. The rabbit here was to add that quality and also to add extra softness to the picture. I hope you like it.Katie fx (1)brdrwm

16 comments on “Best Friends, Portrait of an Amish Girl With A Rabbit

  1. Peggy Woods says:

    Very sweet but where is her Kapp? I’ve never seen the neighbor girls outside without their kapp or a scarf on their heads.

    • Thank you. In Lancaster, and in many books I have about the PA amish, especially in the summer, the little girls run around without their prayer caps most of the time. I have even visited my amish friends who have many little girls that don’t wear them all the time. Maybe it’s more in the winter, or maybe how strict the different districts are. I don’t really know. But I did want to show this little girls hair in this one. Thanks for commenting. 🙂

  2. Context is is everything when it comes to the Amish. The same is true for art. Combine the two like we are here and there are a gazillion interpretations:) Would you likely see a young Amish girl without a kapp when she, for instance, is in town? No, you probably wouldn’t (although this IS supposed to be Lancaster County and, really, I do not find that group as a whole to be terribly strict in their ideology). But at home? Sure, absolutely. I’ve been in Amish homes (I don’t mean this either disrespectfully or salaciously or whatever, just sharing info) where the girls have had their kapps off, their hair let down to their waist, etc. This girl likely is at home, wouldn’t be holding her pet bunny anywhere else….so I think this portrait is an accurate, or at least a plausible, representation!

  3. Helen Christensen says:

    I think this is a beautiful picture. You can see the little girl loves her pet bunny.

  4. kentuckylady717 says:

    I gave this a 5 Star, it is absolutely beautiful…..and I love all her paintings…..she sure has talent…..thanks for posting her paintings on here…

  5. Carolyn says:

    Only one word for that portrait. ” precious”

  6. Eva says:

    Love it! I like to paint too & this is just precious!

  7. Nancy says:

    Such an innocent. Love the mottled background. Just makes everything about the little girl pop. Only wish I could draw. Sigh!

  8. brenda says:

    precious and innocent

Leave a Reply

