Pictures In The Making Continued…

Well, here is the Girl hugging Santa picture I am still working on.  I am taking it slower than usual because I have been away from doing this for about a year, and when you do this, it is harder to remember how to do things like the shading and mixing of color, etc. I do not want to mess this up, because if I do, I will have to start all over again, and I don’t want to do that!

As you see here, the colors are coming out pretty well, and I am very happy with it.  Like I said, every time I come back to drawing after a long period of time, it seems I get just a little better at the technique.  It’s like my technique is maturing as I mature.  Strange!

The coloring process is taking longer than I thought because I am  constantly layering and adding things as I go along. The more layering of colors you do on a picture, the more realistic it becomes, and it seems to pop off the page.  I tell you though, I am soooo tired of holly leaves right now!  The dilemma I am facing now is what color to make the girl’s dress that will accent Santa, not clash and still look Christmasy.  Should it be plain, should it be patterned, bluish,pinkish???? I just don’t know right now, so what I do is keep coloring everything else until the color kind of comes to me.  I can kind of see what the color should be if I look at it long enough.

I am also trying to figure out how I am going to do Santa’s fur and separate it nicely from his beard and hair.  Otherwise it will just lay flat.  What I do at this point now then, is lay a sheet of tracing paper over the design so I can see all the colors through it, and I color over the tracing paper and check colors that way instead of ruining the picture.

So that’s it, that’s what I have so far.  I can only spend so many hours on these pictures each day because of everything else that has to be done,and it just gets to be stop and go.  I will get there though.  I may not complete 24 pictures before the end of the year with Christmas and all, but I will strive for at least 10!  I have to!

Anyway, I will be back with more on this picture and the fairy in a few days.  I am working on two others as well, and I will show you those when I am done.  Thanks for staying tuned!  Until next time… 🙂

2 comments on “Pictures In The Making Continued…

  1. Littleskew says:

    🙂

Leave a Reply

