Mannheim Steamroller’s Silent Night (Music and Video) A Beautiful Gift

Here is a video of a beautiful piece of music that everyone should listen to.  It is Mannheim Steamroller’s Silent Night.  If you haven’t heard this by now, let me warn you, you will be moved.  It is like the music just evokes the whole feeling of what Christmas is really all about.  It is haunting and it  just wells up inside you.

I first heard this back in the 80’s when the group was just starting to be heard on the radio around Christmastime.  My brother had the Christmas cd, made a cassette tape copy for me, and I  have played it ever since that Christmas every year.  I just recently bought the cd so I could have a better copy, and I absolutely love it.

Another reason this is so beautiful to me is that I remember playing this as I was making wreaths for gifts down in my basement one year.  It was late at night, I was by myself,  and this angelic music started playing. Even though I had heard it many times before, it had a different meaning for me at that very moment.

My mother had passed away that March and I was depressed to say the least, and this music just reminded me of heaven.  The violin here sounds like it is crying and it is so moving throughout, especially at the very end with the sounds of the wind and the baby piano.  It was as if I was a child all over again and I was missing my mommy.  I cried like a baby.  Every time I hear this, I feel that all over again. But it is so beautiful, and the music just fades away into happy soft, sleigh bells that bring back hope.  That’s when I picture my mother happy in heaven and I’m suddenly comforted.

That’s what this music means to me.  But please listen and see what it brings back in memories for you. It is a little slow in the beginning, but it’s perfect because it sets the whole mood.  The violin starts around 2:00.  I hope you enjoy this beautiful gift. 🙂

10 comments on “Mannheim Steamroller’s Silent Night (Music and Video) A Beautiful Gift

  1. Gabby Angel says:

    It was truly beautiful! Thank you so much for sharing.

  2. Littleskew says:

    This was enchanting and so so beautiful; thank you for sharing this, it made the hairs on the back of my neck stand up.

    Also your memories are so moving; I’m glad it brought the image and the feeling of Heaven that it did to you.

    Such a beautiful post x

  3. Yousei Hime says:

    I am still a little girl who misses her daddy. Beautiful and personal post. Thank you for sharing it all.

    • You are welcome and I know how you feel. It never goes away, and a beautiful time such as Christmas always bring the feelings of loss back again. But we can picture them in a better place, like I do when I hear music such as this. Thanks for your comment. 🙂

  4. Cathy Smith says:

    Thank you so much for sending that to me, Cheryl—-it was everything that you described, truly beautiful. To be sure, your mom and dad are together in heaven, and you know that together is where they would want to be. They had a very special love and i know that they would be very proud of you. Thank you for thinking of me. Love, Aunt Cathy

  5. Oh, thanks so much. He was a good man. Thank you for those words. I also have another post about my father, and the funny things I remember about him. It’s titled, “Remembrances of my Father” and I wrote it last July. I can send you the link if you want or if you can’t find it by searching here. Thanks again! Love You! Cheryl

  6. I lost my Mother to Alzheimer’s on Nov. 4th 2006, “Silent Night”, was my mother’s favorite Christmas song. I had returned back to work and was listening to Christmas songs when this song came on,it was my first time hearing it, Oh My God I cried and cried it is so beautiful, everytime I hear this song I cry just thinking of my mother. It is beautiful.
    Thanks for sharing!

Leave a Reply

