I Wish John-Boy Walton Was My Older Brother

I don’t know what it is about the Walton’s tv show, but to this day, when I watch the show, I am oblivious to anything going on around me.  The only thing that startles me to reality (unfortunately) is the commercials!  I loved the show in the 70’s when family shows were all the rage, and I wish they still were.  TV shows today are so outrageous that I can’t even compare them to the more meaningful ones from the 70’s.  I mean, I know they all weren’t the best, but at least we had something!

When I watch the Walton’s today, a  strange sense of calm comes over me.  A feeling of being less stressed in a simpler time.

Almost the way I felt growing up in the 60’s and 70’s, before technology went crazy. I liked coming home from school and relaxing before doing homework, leaving the stresses of the day behind me and not having to see my classmates until the next day.  Not with facebook!  It’s in front of you 24/7.  That would have driven me insane.  And the bullies that harassed me by day, I’m sure would have found me on facebook.  No thank you!  I  also loved my “one and only”  rotary phone, to “TALK” to someone…not text or e-mail and  somehow try to figure out if the words in the text were meant to be sarcastic or mean in any way.  We worked out many problems and disagreements over the phone! OOOps, I’m sorry, I’m getting off the subject…I wanted to talk about John-Boy Walton…my hero.

Like I said, I loved watching the Walton’s and how they solved their own family problems, ate together at mealtimes with Grandma and Grandpa, and even took in strangers with difficult hardships  and fixed their problems, too. They just took life as it came with all it’s different experiences and learned from them, together.  Always together. It sounds silly, but I always came away from  the show feeling satisfied, like I could survive the next day’s troubles  all because of how I felt inside after watching the show for an hour.

Now, I  do have an older sister and our relationship reminded me so much of the relationship between Mary-Ellen  and Erin. The little spats and also the sisterly love.  I  also have 3 younger brothers, but I had always wished for an older brother. An older brother who would protect me from the cold, harsh world and show me right from wrong, without getting mom or dad involved. Someone I could go to for all kinds of advice and know that he would always be there for me if things didn’t quite go my way.  I’m sure he would’ve somehow made me feel like the sun would surely shine again in the morning.  It would all be okay.  And yes, he would’ve been a writer and write poems and share them with me. Poems about love and romance and life in general.  Of course, I would appreciate that, because I am an artist and write poetry, too. Yes, that was John-Boy.

Ahhh…it is nice to dream…

But I have always loved John-Boy, or Richard Thomas, since he played the part, and I think he would think it was funny  that there is still women out there that have secretly admired him all these years.  He  just looks like he is a very nice person to get to know.  I never read anything bad about him.  He just looks like a pleasant, very nice person.

Flashback:   One day on our Honeymoon in Washington DC ( in 1985 ), my husband and I were at this very nice restaurant.  As we were eating, my husband told me that Richard Thomas had just walked in.  I did not believe him! But it was him!!! He and another actor were starring on a stage production nearby and they were eating out together.  He was only tables away from me!!!Oh my God!  I’m thinking….autograph..no… he will think I am stupid…no.  I really would have loved to go over to him and tell him how much I loved his work, but I probably would have drooled instead, so nevermind.  I still remember what he was wearing and how he just strolled in like he was my next door neighbor.  Unbelievable.

Anyway, that’s my story.  Now you know my secret crush, oh well.  I’ve held it in for so long, it just had to come out someday.

So if you ever happen to see Richard Thomas in your travels, let me know,and see if you can’t get that extra autograph for me, ok???  🙂

Goodnight John-Boy!

John-Boy

Richard Thomas

2 comments on “I Wish John-Boy Walton Was My Older Brother

Leave a Reply

