Keeping Watch

There is a cemetery down the road from my house.  It’s not like the one that sits across the railroad tracks behind my house that I can see.  This one has more statues of angels that you can see from the road as you pass by.  It  always bothered me that I could never really stop long enough to study the faces or the poses of the stone angels keeping watch.  I kept telling myself I was going to go there one day and just take pictures of the solemn statues, that even though are haunting, look somewhat beautiful and even peaceful.  And so one cloudy day, I did just that.  My daughter came with me and drove me around that cemetery and stopped when I needed her to, to take just the right photo.  Here are those photos. See if you don’t get the same feeling, that they are beautiful, but haunting as well.

In Deep Thought

 

I'll Watch Over You

For The Babies

 

Grieving

 

Mother and Child

 

Beautiful Angel 1

 

Beautiful Angel 2

 

I am so glad I decided to finally take these photos.  Just beautiful.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

