For All The Fathers Present, Past and Father’s Yet To Be

This post is about fathers and how important they are in our lives.

There is something to be said about the father figure in the home. To me, as a child, I think I would have been more fearful without that certain quiet, strength my father seemed to emanate just being in the  same room with him.  Sure my mother made us feel safe, to an extent, but there was something more with my father.  I always felt more at ease.

My father was strong when he needed to be, and he disciplined us when we needed that,  too. But he was also gentle, especially  with his daughters.  As kids, we knew what we could get away with with our Mom, but we knew we had to tow the line with Dad.  And we all knew when my father came home from work…it was like a change in the weather.  You could feel it.  It was back to business.  Things were more serious.  Don’t get me wrong, he was a funny man and made us laugh plenty of times with his little antics and jokes, and that’s what made him so lovable.  He knew where to draw the line.  He was everything rolled into one and just made things feel more stable when he was  at home.

As a grandfather,he loved his grandkids.  He was like a big kid himself, making them laugh and teasing them. You know, the typical “pull my finger” and all that. He also loved holding them and making a big deal of  them.  I remember one day not long after my mother passed away,  dropping off my 4 year old daughter with him to help him keep his mind off things. He really enjoyed spending time with her, and he seemed so comfortable and at ease with her.  Nothing special, they just spent time outside raking leaves, played a bit and even had a snack together. It wasn’t  like watching baseball on television I’m sure, but he was definitely in heaven, and I don’t think he even wanted her to leave that day. My dad…he was just an awesome grandfather!

Now my husband, as a father, is the same in our household.  Everything takes on a more serious note when he is home.  He is definitely a strong presence.  When the kids were younger, he would play with them and help them with homework, but as far as discipline, all he had to do  was raise his voice a decibel, and they would take notice. If they got out of line while he was at work, he was good for that typical Mom statement, “Wait ’til your father gets home!”  It always worked, too!  They would think about that line and suddenly, the bad behavior would come to a complete halt. Funny!  The kids, now in their teens, know they can’t get away with much, and God forgive them if they disrespect me. All hell breaks loose!  He will listen to them and help them, but he never lets them wimp out on something, where I might  tend to give in. Together , I think we are a good match as I sometimes remind him when he needs to be softer with the kids, and he reminds me when to be stronger with them. It’s a  good balance.

When I was growing up, I remember I wanted the perfect Dad.  A dad like Charles Ingalls (Michael Landon) or John Walton (Ralph Waite) on the Walton’s. I admired them so much and how they fixed all the family’s problems and grew from each one and  also realized their own weaknesses , but remaining the steady rock in the household. But that is Hollywood and this is real, and no one is perfect.  Everyone makes mistakes and we have to understand that, as long as the lesson is learned from those mistakes is what really matters.

In my eyes, my Dad was perfect and I will always remember him fondly.  I wouldn’t have changed a thing.  Well, maybe just a few more hugs and “I love You’s”, but that’s ok.  He made up for that in his last years as he realized how short life can be, and he said it to us all the time.  I thank him for that.

So keep up the good work all you Dads, and to Dads that are yet to be.  Your strength, as well as your gentleness and understanding is needed, and I know it shapes the children into what they  become and ever hope to be. It can be a very big responsibility!  You don’t know it, but you are a rock in this scary place, this world we live in today, and I’m sure you are and/or will be, “perfect” in your own family’s eyes. Happy Father’s Day!

My father-in-law with my daughter, Kelsey. She’s admiring his sips of lemonade..ahhh!

My son,Patrick (around 1992) walking with his Dad. I think this picture says it all,

Today, Kelsey with her Dad. Just perfect!

10 comments on “For All The Fathers Present, Past and Father’s Yet To Be

  1. Muzzy Daud says:

    Lovely post Cheryl, just wonderful. It was truly inspirational. Your writing technique is breathtaking too.

    Lovely tribute, touching and does justice to the topic. Well done, Liked!

  2. Awwww, thanks so much. I know I could improve on my grammar a bit, but I just write as i am thinking and try to correct later. As far as the topic, I stand by every word of it! I wouldn’t have it any other way. Thanks again.:)

  3. Muzzy Daud says:

    It’s not a problem Cheryl. Your grammar is brilliant and seriously talented. Blogging is writing what you are thinking anyway and you are doing a great job at that. Its nice that you stand by your topic, that makes for the perfect blogger!

  4. Muzzy Daud says:

    My pleasure!

    I have a new post up and I would love your thoughts and comments, if you don’t mind.

    http://muzzydaudonsports.wordpress.com/2011/06/13/you-deserve-more-credit/

    I’ve tried to be a bit different and unique in this one, any feedback will be greatly appreciated!

    Thanks,

    Muzzy

  5. Very nice post with some absolutely adorable pictures.
    Sorry about your dad….Lost my dad last year…..sounds like we were both very lucky.

  6. Reblogged this on Cherylmcnulty's Blog and commented:

    Just a Blog I had written awhile ago ,and thought of just today. Thought it was important to share.

  7. Samanthamj says:

    Great post. I still think of and miss my dad every day. I shudder to think of how my life would have been had he not been in the picture. Dad’s are definitely so important. I’m very thankful for the father I had, for as long as I had him…. and, I’m also very thankful that my husband is such a great father to our children.

Leave a Reply

