Best Friends Are Like Four Leaf Clovers

Hello again.

Since my married name is McNulty, and my single name was Riley, and today is St. Patrick’s Day….I need to write a blog that has something to do with St. Patrick’s Day, right?

Well, if not only about St. Patrick’s Day, I can write about the illustration here I did awhile back with a quote about four leaf clovers, which I believe totally.

Friends are sure hard to find, especially the ones that stick by you.  Through the bad times as well as the good.  I just know you really need friends, especially when you are younger.  I am 50 and I may have one friend, but plenty of family members on my husbands side that I could call my friends.  That seems to happen as you get older, friends don’t seem so abundant anymore.  Everyone is doing their own thing or live far away. But that’s ok, family is a good substitute.  At least they can’t really run out on you.  I also have an older sister in my own family that is like my best friend, I wouldn’t change that for anything either.  She knows me the best.  When we were growing up, we shared everything, and that made life seem so much more bearable. Boyfriend troubles, family arguments, money issues, feelings…you name it.  All the tough times seem easier to deal with if you have a close friend.

My husband is like my best friend, also.  I can tell him anything.  I would feel lost if I didn’t have my husband to share with.  You definitely need someone you can call friend. Someone. Anyone.  Even Rover, your dog.  I don’t care.  If they make you feel better…they’re a friend. In my book anyway.

Okay, now getting back to St. Patrick’s Day…who’s having corned beef and cabbage…say “I”.  Who’s having irish soda bread…and maybe some drinks :)???

The only part about corned beef and cabbage is finding a decent package of corned beef that doesn’t have a chock full of fat on it and that  doesn’t cost something like a gold nugget!!!!  Come on…you need to buy 4 of those packages just to make a meal for 4…they shrink when you cook them too, like cotton in the hot wash…holy cow!!!  I always panic when I have a table full of people waiting on my corned beef and I take it out of the oven and it looks like the size of a meatball!  Talk about cutting your slices thin!  Thank God for potatoes and soda bread!  Let’s hope your sitting among good friends and loving family members so they don’t make fun of your “tiny” meat.  Hopefully they will have few drinks by then..and no one will notice anyway!

Well, go and have a good St. Patrick’s Day…and think of me at dinner…friend:).

(Also, to plug a good movie about the Irish..”.The Devil’s Own ” with Brad Pitt and Harrison Ford. A little violent, but more of an Irish feel.  Good story.)Enjoy!

Best Friends Are LIke Four Leaf Clovers

4 comments on “Best Friends Are Like Four Leaf Clovers

  1. this is so true, i must go and say thankyou to my four leaf clovers. great post

  2. frendlover99 says:

    That is very true, but do some people really treasure their friends? I really do wonder sometimes.

Leave a Reply

