Little Things Make Me Happy

I’m finding out that as I get older, it doesn’t take too much to make me happy anymore.  It’s all in the little things.  The things that might go unnoticed to some.  I was thinking about this the other day while I was cleaning up the kitchen the other day after dinner and soon had all my kids (and the boyfriend of my daughter)chipping in to help.  It wasn’t only surprising, but it felt good.  I was extremely happy!  Thanks guys!

This morning I went to make breakfast for myself, and the kitchen was spotless….even after the kids had had their breakfast.  It felt good not to have any coffee spots and jelly wads left on the counter, along with eggshells in the sink.  Usually I find that, and it seems I’m the only one that cleans it all up. But not this time.  And guess what?  I even got to open a new jar of instant coffee.  I broke the seal and had that first cup of fresh coffee…me!  Now this was going to be a good day…I just knew it.

There are other  little things that make me happy.  Let me just share my list with you.  Maybe you’ll find you have the same things that make you happy.

-A new tube of toothpaste, not crumpled.

-When I find the ice cube trays have all been refilled… and not by me.  No more trays in the freezer with just one cube!

-The pile of clothes on my bed I had planned to fold, my daughter does for me without even being asked!:)

-A day that is not only sunny, but just slightly warm…with NO wind.  Pure happiness.

– When my husband tells me he loves me and  “You’re so pretty!”, or that he’s so lucky that I’m his wife, even after 26 years of marriage.

-My kids still tell me they love me or they still like to give me hugs even though they are in their teens.

-When my jeans fit perfectly.

-Chocolate martinis and white zinfandel.

-Trying out a new restaurant or a going on a surprise outing with my husband.

-Shopping with my daughters.  They can be pretty funny.

-A full tank of gas.

-A day of doing nothing but sitting around and watching movies and having popcorn…just chilling.  Whatever happens, happens.

– My quiet time at night when I can do whatever I want without interruption.

These are just a few of the things I can think of right now.  I will add more as I think of them .

But I think it is so funny how simple  things like  hearing crickets chirp on a warm summer night, or sitting out back on my deck to read a good book and hearing everything around me, makes me feel just like everything is alright.  I’m happy.  It doesn’t take much.

And you know what… I’m happy with that, too. 🙂

Leave a Reply

