Goodbye Max

Max being cute

Max with my daughter Caitlin

Ready for Fall

Waiting

Loved to be held

Waiting...again. Is it for me?

This is probably the hardest post I will ever write.  My dog Max, our min- pin of 11 years, had to be put down Wednesday from complications from diabetes.  He was a tough guy, and looked like he had 9 lives, always coming back from a set back.  He was tired.

We knew it was time and he let us hug him endlessly before he was put down.  That part was just so hard. I can’t get it out of my mind.  He just lay there on the vet table with his head between his paws as if to say, “I’m ready”…but we weren’t.

Enough of that.  He was a great, smart dog and if I were ever to get another, it would be another min-pin, most definitely.  He was part clown, I’m sure.  They told us when we got him he would not be a lap dog…wrong!  He loved being held. He had energy I would kill for!  And as far as a watch dog…the best!  We will never forget him.  He was my first pet that I ever picked out, and I trained him myself.  He was easy at that too!

Anyway, the part that hits me the most, now, is the quiet.   I can’t get used to it.  I keep expecting him to pounce on me while I lay sleeping on the couch, to tell me to take him out and put him into the basement where his bed was. The quiet is what is killing me the most.  When the postman comes, and the Chem Lawn guy comes, and we come home from jobs and school…the quiet gets you!

His dish is still sitting on the floor, and something is holding me back from putting it away. Am I crazy!  I try telling myself that he’s better off and without pain and in a better place, but I want him with me!  I will try to be less selfish, and I have to go on, but Max..we love you always!  You were the best and you won’t be forgotten, ever.  Until we meet again…<3

Here is a video for “Rainbow Bridge”

Please watch.. and have a tissue ready.:(

The video was disabled…you have to click again on where it says “watch it on you tube”.

6 comments on “Goodbye Max

  1. anniespickns says:

    Beautiful post Cheryl. Losing those we love, human or animal, is always hard but, our memories are always there to remind us of how truly wonderful they were. Hugs!

  2. Dennis McNulty says:

    Hi Cheryl,
    Just stopped in to view your latest work. Very nice. I remember that view from the second story and on Sunday mornings when this one bird would sit on top of the telephone pole and sing. It used to bother Jim, but I think that’s where I learned to whistle….LOL

  3. elaine marchant says:

    thank you for sharing your story, cheryl. our baby will turn 11 in 3 months. he has turned grey and looks distinguished. he is slowing down, which we appreciate, but pete and i are both thinking the same thing… it is something we don’t talk about. we will continue to enjoy every day with him…

Leave a Reply

