Amish Girl Drawing/Simple Gifts Video

I’m just posting this because I believe the two belong together.  This picture, which I drew awhile back (and I would like to do more Amish pictures) was done in colored pencil and I love the way it turned out.  She is beautiful and her innocence seems to shine through.  As I said in the previous post, we just got back from Amish country, and it is very hard to come back into the swing of things when you have simpleness and calmness all around you for a week. Enjoy this calmness for a few with the video. 🙂  Please click on the title of the video for it to work.

Amish Girl Colored Pencil Portrait

3 comments on “Amish Girl Drawing/Simple Gifts Video

  1. I have been friends with an Amish family for more than 20 years, so I know all about their culture. This Amish mother even let me take a photo of her child and my children because Amish culture isn’t as strict with children as they have not entered the church yet. See N.A. Noel’s work on the Amish and professional photographers that have Amish books out there. This is just a piece of artwork of no one in particular. I took a photo of another child’s face from a magazine and depicted her as Amish. I think it represents the simpleness and gentleness of this culture.

  2. Pat says:

    Lovely picture!! And I bet it is hard to settle back in after enjoying such peace & quiet have a beautiful evening. 😀 😀

Leave a Reply

