A Poem About “Young Love”

Okay, I’m just going to throw this one out there. This is a poem I wrote when I was dating my husband. He lived a distance away when we were first dating and so I didn’t really see him much, except for weekends.

You know the feeling you have when you’ve just started dating the person, and can’t seem to get them out of your mind?  Just call it “young love”.

Anyway, all embarrassment aside, here is a poem titled “If I’m Dreaming”. Written January 9,1982 (wow!).

          If I’m Dreaming

If I’m dreaming please don’t wake me

I want this to last forever

and I don’t think that I could ever

bear the thought you’re just a dream.

I keep on thinking, what if someday

as we’re together growing older

someone just taps me on the shoulder

and it all just fades away.

Or we may be kissing on my doorstep

when a voice is heard behind me

and as I turn to look , I’ll find me

back in my room and all alone.

Or you could be lying close beside me

and as you wrap your arms around me

an empty blanket I’ll find surrounds me

when I open up my eyes.

I don’t want to go on thinking

that someday I’ll soon awaken

and find my heart has just been taken

on a never-ending ride.

We have something much too special

to have it last for just one nighttime

a love like ours should last a lifetime

not for just an hours sleep.

So if I find that I’m just dreaming

I’ll pray the Lord to sleep forever

so that I won’t have to ever

be without you by my side. 🙂

Well, there it is.  Hope you enjoyed this and maybe somehow relate.:)

10 comments on “A Poem About “Young Love”

  1. megzone says:

    wwoooww…thats a nice one there 🙂
    but why was the end a lil sad 😦
    awwww…. nonetheless i did like reading it 🙂
    keep writing 🙂

  2. Jingle says:

    lovely love poem!
    U take me to your world,
    full of love,
    nothing else!

  3. anthonynorth says:

    You highlight the thoughts of many here, I’m sure.
    You’ll find mine here.

  4. brian miller says:

    very nice…being in love is like a dream, isn’t it…hope i do not wake anytime soon…

  5. nanno1982 says:

    sweet young love..
    you brought back memories to me..
    I loved it 🙂

Leave a Reply

