Ernest H. Shepard

When I was a little girl, my mom would read to my sister and I before bed and it was usually from A.A. Milne’s, “Winnie The Pooh” or “Now We Are Six”.  I simply loved the stories and assorted poems.  For me, Shepard’s simple black, ink drawings were perfect, and I couldn’t wait for my mother to turn each page to reveal the next one!  I truly believe these drawings influenced the way I draw today.

Shepard  seemed to draw children so simply, yet the form and actions of the children he drew were so life-like. Whether it’s Christopher Robin kicking up leaves in his high boots as he walks along with his nanny, marching to the pond with his fishing pole, skipping rope or just sitting up in his bed with the “sneezles”, it’s so innocent  and real.  He’s captured everything perfectly in a tiny black sketch, that I try to capture in an illustration that’s completely colored.  Sometimes, it’s more perfect in it’s simpleness.

When I want to be inspired creatively, I sometimes just go through these books by Milne. I want to try to capture the same feeling I had when my mother read to me from these books long ago -a combination of innocence, playfulness and comfort. 

The two, Milne and Shepard, were perfect together for these books and I’m sure they will be favorites for years to come.:)

Shepard's drawing from poem "Buttercup Days". My favorite.

2 comments on “Ernest H. Shepard

  1. Jingle says:

    yes, please go ahead and comment for 12 blogs,
    since u r new, I suggest that u visit participants of your choice and good luck!

  2. Reblogged this on Cherylmcnulty's Blog and commented:

    I’m posting this one again because I am feeling nostalgic. Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

