Butterflies Flutter By

Butterflies.  Who doesn’t love butterflies.  They are a wonder.

When I sit and think how a caterpillar can make a cocoon and in so many days later, emerge into a whole different species, I know that there is a lesson here about life.  I can’t even fathom how such a thing can happen, but I don’t want it  really explained to me either.  I believe there is truly something out there bigger than myself, and it’s more complicated than I could even imagine.  And it makes me feel good, not scared.

Also, when I was growing up, I saw many Disney movies, and I truly believed if you were a beautiful person (such as the characters Cinderella, Sleeping Beauty, Snow White) then blue birds and butterflies would  flit around you, even land upon your hand-and not fly away as soon as they saw you.  Oh, well.  Guess I wasn’t one of those “beautiful” people!

Anyway, this illustration is for the  “remarkable” butterfly.  🙂

Butterflies Flutter By

(I will be selling this popular design as scented note cards on my Etsy site soon.  Please visit:

http://www.etsy.com/shop/CherylMcNulty  .  Thank you!)

4 comments on “Butterflies Flutter By

  1. kseverny says:

    they are fascinating animals

  2. You are one of the beautiful people or you would not be visualizing with awe the beauty of it all now.

  3. […] June 5, 2010 by Cheryl McNulty Butterflies.  Who doesn't love butterflies.  They are a wonder. When I sit and think how a caterpillar can make a cocoon and in so many days later, emerge into a whole different species, I know that there is a lesson here about life.  I can't even fathom how such a thing can happen, but I don't want it  really explained to me either.  I believe there is truly something out there bigger than myself, and it's more complicated than I could even imag … Read More […]

Leave a Reply

