Little Red Sneakers

 

Patrick (about 1992) with sock puppet on hand, in his little red sneakers

 

My kids- Kelsey, Patrick and Caitlin (about 1998)

 

Here is a poem from my journal that was written 6/21/93.  It is about my children and wanting never to forget all the special memories of their childhood. The red sneakers were Patrick’s, and they were little  canvas high tops-so cute!

This poem is titled:  Little Red Sneakers

*I want to remember,

Little red sneakers, sandboxes and swings,

and all the little childhood things.

Joyful laughter-wiping tears, I want to remember through the years.

Ice cream, lollipops and licorice,too,

Wagons and bicycles-a stroller for two.

Christmases and birthdays, when everyone’s over,

Ernie and Bert, Oscar and Grover.

Bathing suits and summer fun, a kiss and hug for everyone.

Carousels and pony rides, cookouts and climbing slides.

A wading pool, chock-full of toys,

Climbing trees is for little boys!

Scampering feet on wooden floors,

Singing kid songs behind closed doors.

Christopher Robin and Winnie The Pooh,

Owl, Eeyore, Kanga and Roo.

Reading books on Mommy’s lap,

“Come on now kids, it’s time for your nap!”

Cookies and milk before going to bed.

Stroking blonde hair on a tired boys head.

The kiss and the hug,  the ” I  Love You!” before sleeping,

Lies deep within my heart, worth keeping.

These things I want to remember with pleasure.

Worth more than gold,

It’s a mother’s treasure!

The End

🙂

15 comments on “Little Red Sneakers

  1. slpmartin says:

    My memories of my children are similar…but from a dad’s point of view…reading to my children at night, teaching them how to ride a bike, and saying prayers at night…these are the teasures of a dad!

  2. This is such a sweet poem; I hope you have it framed with your children’s pictures. Wonderful, emotional piece!

    “Climbing trees is for little boys!”
    I was the tree climber,
    Gerardine

    • I always did want to frame it and I almost did…as usual time got away from me and it got put aside. This doesn’t mean I still can’t do it now…right? Thanks for your kind words. 🙂

  3. brian miller says:

    that brought back some wonderful memories…

  4. Yousei Hime says:

    Found you on the Thursday Poets’ Rally Fresh list. Very glad I did. Your blog header is beautiful, and your memory poem is precious. I have two boys and have written a few poems about them and their younger years. Thank you for sharing this one.

  5. […] September 11, 2010 by Cheryl McNulty     Here is a poem from my journal that was written 6/21/93.  It is about my children and wanting never to forget all the special memories of their childhood. The … Read More […]

  6. Eileen says:

    reminds me of lil curly head girl growing up; thanks for reminding me of the sweet memories.

Leave a Reply

