The Kitchen Is the Heart Of The Home

This is a quote I live by as I am usually in the kitchen and I like it that way.  I feel most comfortable, and less stressed out, when baking or cooking up a meal.  When company comes over, I try my best to make them feel at home. Hopefully, I succeed.

In my kitchen, I have country aprons (from Amish country, of course) hanging off hooks, wooden plaques with clever kitchen quotes,  various country linens and other assorted country decor scattered throughout the room.  To me, it feels very “homey “. It’s me.

I like nothing more than when someone(usually my kid’s friends) walks through my door, and I have  something baking.  The compliments come quickly and before you know it, shoes come off by the fridge, and there’s conversation  and laughter.   Now that’s comfort!  I think that’s pretty neat.

I want my kids to remember kitchen smells.  You know, like a roast or banana bread, or even meatloaf.  I remember them, and fondly, too!

When my kids were small, we had a day put aside for just baking together.  I wanted them to get the satisfaction of starting with basic ingredients, and know that with a little hard work, you’d end up with this wonderful pie or cake or muffin-whatever.   As long as they knew it didn’t just come from a box at Stop and Shop.  We had great fun doing it, too! 

It’s too easy today to just go and “buy” a box of cookies, a loaf of bread or even a birthday cake.  I know it’s necessary sometimes, but I think we miss out on so much when we do this.  All the senses are at work when you bake something yourself and when it’s done, “you” get the compliments. It’s much more satisfying.  Especially when you see their faces stuffed and something muffled comes out like, “Wow, this is really good, Mrs.

The Kitchen Is The Heart Of The Home

 

McNulty!”

So, this is the reason for me illustrating this quote- oh, and look-it’s a little girl “baking”!  How surprising!!!!  🙂  Enjoy!  Cheryl

One comment on “The Kitchen Is the Heart Of The Home

  1. […] This is a quote I live by as I am usually in the kitchen and I like it that way.  I feel most comfortable, and less stressed out, when baking or cooking up a meal.  When company comes over, I try my best to make them feel at home. Hopefully, I succeed. In my kitchen, I have country aprons (from Amish country, of course) hanging off hooks, wooden plaques with clever kitchen quotes,  various country linens and other assorted country decor scattered … Read More […]

Leave a Reply

